UPSC CSE (Union Public Service Commission Civil Services Examination), commonly known as the IAS (Indian Administrative Service) exam, is one of the most prestigious and competitive exams in India. It is conducted by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) to recruit candidates for various civil services in the government of India, such as Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Indian Police Service (IPS), Indian Foreign Service (IFS), and several other Group A and B services. The UPSC CSE is known for its high level of competition and difficulty, and candidates need to have a thorough understanding of the syllabus, exam pattern, and current affairs to clear this exam.
Here’s the UPSC CSE exam pattern and marks distribution for all stages
Stage Papers Marks Duration
Stage 1 Exam Type: Objective
Paper I - General Studies 200 2 hours
Paper II - CSAT (Civil Services Aptitude Test) 200 2 hours
Stage 2 Exam Type: Written
Paper A - Indian Language 300 3 hours
Paper B - English Language 300 3 hours
Paper I - Essay 250 3 hours
Paper II - General Studies I 250 3 hours
Paper III - General Studies II 250 3 hours
Paper IV - General Studies III 250 3 hours
Paper V - General Studies IV 250 3 hours
Paper VI - Optional Subject Paper 1 250 3 hours
Paper VII - Optional Subject Paper 2 250 3 hours
Stage 3 Exam Type: Personal Interview
- 275 -
Note: The Preliminary Exam is a qualifying exam for the Main Exam, and the marks obtained in the Preliminary Exam are not counted towards the final merit list. The total marks for the Main Exam are 1750 (including language papers), and the total marks for the Personality Test are 275. The final merit list is prepared based on the marks obtained in the Main Exam and the Personality Test.